NV4108E-HS Problems

Have some questions or having issues with your DVR/NVR(s), Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you with.
Jakefarley
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:46 am

NV4108E-HS Problems

Postby Jakefarley » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:58 am

I have this NVR with 6 cameras as follows: 1 - IP4M-1028E and 5 - IP4M-1026E. The NVR is connected to a modem/wireless router supplied by Spectrum (Brighthouse). On occasion the NVR loses connectivity with the cameras (all of them) with the message 10.1.1.134 "Can not find the network host" on the monitor connected directly to the NVR. I reboot the NVR and the cameras all come back. On occasion, I lose one or two cameras and rebooting the NVR solves the problem temporarily. Also, sometimes a camera goes out for a few minutes and then comes back. All of the camera firmware is up to date as well as the NVR firmware.

Also, unplugging the Cat5 cable between the NVR and modem/router will cause the same problem. Sounds like a network problem within the NVR perhaps.

Amcrest support has recommended a factory reset (unplug the NVR for 2-3 days). I was wondering if a factory reset can be performed by pressing a reset button on the board (see pic below - red arrow) or by removing the battery (green arrow)?

Any help on performing the factory reset or solving the connectivity problem would be greatly appreciated.
Inked20190128_114103_LI.jpg
Inked20190128_114103_LI.jpg (4.63 MiB) Viewed 153 times

User avatar
Z-Man
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:00 am

Re: NV4108E-HS Problems

Postby Z-Man » Sun Feb 03, 2019 4:31 pm

I used to have a similar problem where I'd lose cameras periodically. Come to find out, the IP addresses would change. I fixed that by using static IPs. Then I switched over to the private network of the NVR (10.1.1.x). I haven't had any drops since.

selmaquuen
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:30 pm

Re: NV4108E-HS Problems

Postby selmaquuen » Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:40 pm

Jakefarley wrote:I have this NVR with 6 cameras as follows: 1 - IP4M-1028E and 5 - IP4M-1026E. The NVR is connected to a modem/wireless router supplied by Spectrum (Brighthouse). On occasion the NVR loses connectivity with the cameras (all of them) with the message 10.1.1.134 "Can not find the network host" on the monitor connected directly to the NVR. I reboot the NVR and the cameras all come back. On occasion, I lose one or two cameras and rebooting the NVR solves the problem temporarily. Also, sometimes a camera goes out for a few minutes and then comes back. All of the camera firmware is up to date as well as the NVR firmware.

Also, unplugging the Cat5 cable between the NVR and modem/router will cause the same problem. Sounds like a network problem within the NVR perhaps.

Amcrest support has recommended a factory reset (unplug the NVR for 2-3 days). I was wondering if a factory reset can be performed by pressing a reset button on the board (see pic below - red arrow) or by removing the battery (green arrow)?

Any help on performing the factory reset or solving the connectivity problem would be greatly appreciated.
Inked20190128_114103_LI.jpg

I have other Amcrest products that work well, just not this model. This model has 8 port POE "switch" built-in, this is where the flaw is. It is indeed a router, not a switch. The devices that you connect to this "switch" (cameras, computer,...) will receive an IP address with a different subnet due to the built-in DHCP server. These devices cannot be accessed directly from your main network, also, these devices cannot access the Internet at all.
Tencent Gaming Buddy TutuApp AppValley
For example, I have some non Amcrest cameras connected to this NVR, I cannot access the cameras directly to update firmware, change settings,...
Since these cameras have built-in motion detection, they cannot send alerts to my cel phone since they cannot reach the Internet at all.

I called tech support twice, each time waited about 15 minutes before I can talk to a person. The tech on the other end could not understand the technical details of this problem, she kept asking me whether I can see the camera's video on my screen. I ended up returning this model and bought another Amcrest NVR that does not have a built-in switch.


Return to “NVRs / DVRs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest