AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

This Forum its to discuss the new Smart Home Devices.
pcabral
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 7:13 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby pcabral » Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:23 am

I've disconnected the doorbell chime to rule it out and it still reboots and I measured roughly 24v at the doorbell chime when I disconnected the unit but left the chime kit connected. I do not have a voltage drop it would seem across the entire circuit which makes sense because of the distance and 18g wire.

pcabral
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 7:13 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby pcabral » Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:29 am

So here is a question.... what I've noticed is that my IR remains on until it reboots, similar behavior as if was forced on but set to auto.

I think what is happening is that my neighbors ring doorbell turns on it's IR and causes my IR to turn on and the two remain on until mine reboots.

I don't think these devices using capacitors were designed to handle this scenario. I believe they were designed to go on briefly if motion was detected.

User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby Revo2Maxx » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:27 am

No IR if your camera was to go into night vision mode would be on as long as the Night Vision aka B/W is set to on.. Without it if in a dark area then there would be nothing the camera could see with out the IR on or enough light to keep it in color... Sadly it sounds like the Camera might be Defective however a question remains did you test the voltage at all areas in question? Doorbell, camera and transformer.. Problem could be that the issue is with Contact, wire nut, or the wire from Transformer or bell being damaged and the current draw is to high on IR draw and makes the system fail?

Sadly for me it is hard to know without being able to touch it,
Protect what you Value and Value what you Protect.

Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
James

pcabral
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 7:13 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby pcabral » Fri Jul 31, 2020 3:08 pm

Just ran a an IR test with the old doorbell directly wired to my 16vac 30va transformer on the bench and it runs flawlessly. The wire length is approximately 6" with a multimeter in between measuring AC current and had no problems.

So perhaps it's the wire length at the end of the day.... I will need to measure the voltage at the doorbell as you suggested and see what is going on there.

User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby Revo2Maxx » Fri Jul 31, 2020 3:36 pm

Yes sadly that can be an issue.. It is hard to tell.. Also it could be that you will need to measure with the IR on and if it isn't right away when it happens it could be just that the wiring when installed got nicked if say is the Multi strand type wire might be that the wire when stripped was cut and only a part of the wire is making contact and again that can cause a Flow issue...

Also some Transformers can be in question by make and by range of watts.. This can make things unhappy..

However worse case it could be a bad camera... From all the people I have helped with the AD110 in my local area after all testing and working with even my Transformer of 100va only found 1 that the camera was at fault. a couple had wiring issues, some had doorbell issues where it was causing a draw that pulled down the transformer and would make it Reset.. When I put my Transformer in the mix with a 3amp fuse that I keep in place for testing things within a min or 2 the Fuse blew..
Protect what you Value and Value what you Protect.

Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
James

pcabral
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 7:13 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby pcabral » Fri Jul 31, 2020 4:05 pm

What I'm confused about is the AC amp draw as it is not above an amp.... with IR on I'm see 208ma with it off I'm seeing 140ma which both seem low at 24vac.

Oh and the 18g wire is solid copper. I will perform a continuity test to look for shorts.

Thank you very much for all your help thus far!!!

My last resort will be to run a 120v line to the box and have the transformer reside in the junction box instead on the main panel. Which would cut down 30' of low voltage down to 10'

User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby Revo2Maxx » Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:36 pm

Yes very odd.. My normal running camera day time is around 200 to 240ma depending on that I am doing.. However turn on IR and have loads of audio and background going on I found that the amps went to 360ma at the peak.. However I did see while moving data from the camera with IR on and it streaming to my NVR and all that I could get from it I did get the camera to peak just over 430ma however under normal day load audio turned off so it isn't streaming audio to my app but is still streaming audio and video to the NVR it was never over 240ma
Protect what you Value and Value what you Protect.

Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
James

User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby Revo2Maxx » Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:05 pm

However I did some more testing.. I used another one that has old FW and I was looking over that and when it first started out this one I had on a 16vac 30va transformer by it self without anything besides the camera and the camera was first time connected the startup draw was 523ma and that is only 8 watts or little over 8.. So I took it off the 30va and connected it to a 10va

Now I have a little more understanding about why I think things are the way they are with the IR from Auto and off back to auto after a reboot First 10va transformer I tested it at 16vac it was a good 21vac to start with.. Once I connected the camera the transformer went to 14.8vac to 15.4vac.. I then changed in the app to turn on IR and the transformer dropped down to 12.6vac and camera cycled off within 20 maybe 25 seconds as I didn't look at the time right away...

Went back to my 16vac 30va on the Updated FW Camera and it started out at 17.8vac this is mind you 30min after removing it from the other power to make sure there was nothing stored within the cameras CAPs.. When I powered on the camera the transformer went to 16.4vac.. Turned on the IR and the voltage went to 16.2vac and never fell below 16vac even going as high as 16.5 off and on a couple of times When I removed it from power even with IR on I pressed the button and on my cell I answered and the Camera was able to hear me say hello and then went offline then light came on then back off and I wonder if at that time when it cycled the blue light back on for a moment if it didn't make the change I am not sure.. So I powered it back on and IR was back to Auto and I am wondering if it does this to keep the power intake at boot low because if the boot up with IR on it might make it fail to boot if there is a power issue.. So as a Fail safe it goes back to auto and this would if at night start out in Color (Lower current needs) and then after the time for switching it would switch.. While it would be nice to have it if set to OFF have it written in the config if off keep it off if IR on start with Color until set time then return to set program however maybe not a way to do that so as a Safety net have it load back up in Auto by default no matter the IR settings...
Protect what you Value and Value what you Protect.

Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
James

pcabral
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 7:13 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby pcabral » Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:02 pm

I've been testing with my old camera before I return it back to amcrest. Last night it ran great without issue but I kept getting false detections with synology surveillance station because the IR was brightening and lowering its intensity automatically.

Tonight I made a slight change to where I have it point up slightly to reduce the auto brightness adjustments and low and behold.... the camera now power cycled every 12 minutes (more or less) with the same 6" run to the 16v 30va test transformer, this most certainly confirms my assumption that I don't think this camera can run at full IR blast for a significant amount of time. The test bed has not changed but its position has in order to reduce IR intensity feedback, thus having it run at a brighter level to illuminate more of the area.

I just find it hard to believe it's not a design flaw, since my replacement acts the same way. What are the odds that I received two defective units?!?

User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Postby Revo2Maxx » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:12 pm

Sadly to be honest very slim.. I have ran mine all day at IR and I have no up and down sadly I hate to but if your having issues like that it kind of sounds like a Power Supply issue.. I can tell you that I have 2 right now connected to my Power supply and both of them are working just fine... However my Power supply might not be the same as others... While it does say that it is a 16vac 2.4amp power supply and has a input of 120vac 48 watts.. so the output of 16vac at 2.4 amps is 38.4watts output so it is just over the 16vac 30 as a normal.. However this power supply I am working with is a Class 2 Transformer Supply and why this is some what different it does have some circuits inside to keep it constant voltage as long as the Amps isn't over done...

So I don't expect anyone to Run 2 Doorbell cameras on 1 power supply as it can be bad news... At first I had already wrote some and said that I wasn't going to test the Button push because of not knowing what a Short might do to the other camera however I did it anyway and there was no issue and Voltage never dropped out and both cameras have stayed running without issue...

The Setup.. 2 Doorbell cameras 1 chime box, 1 16vac on 2.4 amps. Testing the Power supply with 1 camera the Voltage is 19.2vac and on start up 358ma was max current with 1 camera... So I unplugged the camera and let it drain and I wanted to test this Power supply thought for sure it would fail and if it did I would set up a test with my 24vac 100va Transformer however Connected the 2 cameras with both of them before showing no signs of power in them.. Connected the Power at the same time to both cameras and the voltage dipped to 19.12vac and amps was at 701ma for a very short time and then went down to 576ma while both cameras booted up then dropped down to 404 to 450ma while both cameras were working in Color.. I then changed the one that is connected to the house right now with new FW over to B/W forced and the current went to 463 and then back down to 457ma with a little up and down maybe 3 or so down so between 454 to 457ma constant and the whole time the Voltage was 19.2vac and 19.13vac was the low...
Protect what you Value and Value what you Protect.

Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
James


Return to “Amcrest Smart Home”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest