Can not add camera on smart home app

Having any issues or recomendations for the Amcrest Smart Home Cloud? Post them here.
Post Reply
pdurdeen7
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2021 5:50 pm

Can not add camera on smart home app

Post by pdurdeen7 »

Trying to add my camera to the smart home app. The app will not accept the serial number. It says it’s invalid. I am able to add it to the view pro app with no issues.
The serial I’m using is AMC064F6CB2134411D. As you can see from the pictures, this should be the correct number.
Only reason I’m trying to add camera to app is so I can see it on my echo devices (Alexa). The camera was originally added using the camera’s GUI, and not any app.
I works on blue iris.

Any ideas?
Attachments
12EAEC74-5A08-4E1F-9D90-75E33194DA7D.jpeg
12EAEC74-5A08-4E1F-9D90-75E33194DA7D.jpeg (291.83 KiB) Viewed 5233 times
E8F73371-6CA6-40F9-8614-FF2F8B97BD28.png
E8F73371-6CA6-40F9-8614-FF2F8B97BD28.png (131.55 KiB) Viewed 5233 times
pdurdeen7
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2021 5:50 pm

Re: Can not add camera on smart home app

Post by pdurdeen7 »

Almost forgot, my camera is, Amcrest UltraHD 4K (8MP) Outdoor Security POE IP Camera, 3840x2160, 98ft NightVision, 2.8mm Lens, IP67 Weatherproof, IK10 Vandal Resistant Dome, MicroSD Recording, White (IP8M-2493EW
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3395
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: Can not add camera on smart home app

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Hello and Welcome to the forum

The sad truth is that your 8MP camera isn't a Smart Home device so it will not add to the Smart Home App. You want to add a camera to Alexa then you will need to buy a Smart home product that can work with Alexa..

2 different Products and while some Smart Home devices can work the other way around, RTSP, ONVIF CGI and the like, Smart home products are a line of its own.. They won't let people use normal cameras on the Smart Home app.. Different servers, different codding. When the Product first was released it did work with normal IP cameras however that was found to be a Fluke as soon as it was noticed Amcrest did a new update and had moved the ability to work backward cross platform..
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
pdurdeen7
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2021 5:50 pm

Re: Can not add camera on smart home app

Post by pdurdeen7 »

Thanks. Disappointing, the ad said Alexa compatible
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3395
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: Can not add camera on smart home app

Post by Revo2Maxx »

My guess that would be an Ad that is caused by the ability to work with Amcrest Cloud. However be it known that last I knew 8mp wasn't supported in full on the Cloud only 4mp cameras are that might have changed by now...

https://support.amcrest.com/hc/en-us/ar ... st-Cameras
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
Post Reply