Motion Detection Info

Have some questions or having issues with your DVR/NVR(s), Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you with.
Nosferatu

Motion Detection Info

Post by Nosferatu »

Hello everyone! I am new to armcrest and have been looking into building a home security system for my home. Just had some questions regarding the motion detection.

How does the motion detection push notifications to my phone? Assuming I am using an NVR from Armcrest.

I would prefer to keep my camera system on a seprate Vlan without access to the internet, but I am unsure how the notifications get pushed out. Is there a software that you can setup on the NVR?

If anyone could help explain how this works that would be great, thank you!
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin

Re: Motion Detection Info

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Hello and Welcome to the Forum..

So to be honest, I would look at buying a POE NVR.. This way all your cameras you can connect to the POE port of the NVR and keep the cameras hidden from the Local Area Network. Now the NVR will be connected to your Lan and have a IP address that can push out notices VIA P2P to your phone app and or to ASP if you happen to have a different area that you frequent with a desktop or laptop. Just keep in mind that it is still best not to use ASP or anything over a Free Wifi if they also have cameras as a way to keep your system more secure.. Mobile Data is one thing. No one is sharing your network over your mobile data link..