GMail setup - test email fails

Have some questions or having issues with your DVR/NVR(s), Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you with.
RegisterToSearch

GMail setup - test email fails

Post by RegisterToSearch »

I'm using a GMail account to send emails out of my home automation system and it works fine.

When I try to set up my Amcrest NVR up with exactly the same settings, I get a "Test email failed" error when I press the "Email Test".

I don't see any way to look at logs to see what error is occurring.

SMTP Server: smtp.gmail.com
Port: 587

Encrypt Type: TLS

Both my NVR and home automation system are on the same subnet and thus use the same exit path through the firewall so that's not the issue. I'm an IT consultant and one thing I get paid to do is to set up pfSense firewalls so I'm fairly certain the firewall is not causing problems.

per this:
https://support.amcrest.com/hc/en-us/ar ... lerts-NVR-

I have 2-Step Verification turned off on Google and I have "Less secure app access" turned on.

I'm kind of stuck here without being able to look at the SMTP logs to see what error is happening.

Thanks,
Sam
RegisterToSearch

Re: GMail setup - test email fails

Post by RegisterToSearch »

A couple of other things that would be helpful to try to diagnose issues like this:
* DNS resolution tester
* Ping utility
shaywood

Post by shaywood »

Folks on other forums are reporting that Google made changes to their email system which is conflicting with the Amcrest and other camera email settings. I have 2 cameras and an NVR that can't send Gmail SMTP emails since June 6th. Hopefully there is a fix?
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin

Post by Revo2Maxx »