Disable startup beep on NV4108E?

Have some questions or having issues with your DVR/NVR(s), Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you with.
Securicheese

Disable startup beep on NV4108E?

Post by Securicheese »

I'm new to Amcrest but not a total novice with security systems or technology. When the NV4108E-A2 NVR powers on, right before the GUI becomes interactable, there's a loud beep that comes from an onboard speaker. I know you can disable the beep for events like no HDD (which I've done) but this starting noise drives me nuts. On past devices, a drop of hot glue on top of the speaker has muted it into oblivion, but this is still quite loud. I can't find anything in the settings to turn off the starting beep. Can anyone help?
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin

Re: Disable startup beep on NV4108E?

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Hello and Welcome to the Forum.

There is no way to turn off the Beep short of removing the Piezo. However if you are Electronics enabled you could add in a Resistor to reduce the volume of the sound. In a few of my systems that I have in my Security Closet I have removed them. This does require the removal of the PCB from the case to gain access to the soldered pins.

Then you have to ask. Does this NVR still have a Warranty? If it does then any Mods shouldn't be done. Also keep in mind that without adding in a circuit adding in a resistor would also reduce the volume for all other alarms you want the NVR to emit. With that said if you don't care about Warranty or all alarms then remove PCB, cut one of the traces on the bottom leading to piezo, remove the some of the solder mask on that trace at both ends, then solder on a 0603 sized resistor to fit your needs.. You will want to test a few values to get to the desired volume of sound it emits.
Be Safe.
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin

Post by Revo2Maxx »