Any Reason Why I Can't Use an 8TB HD in the NV4108E-HS

Have some questions or having issues with your DVR/NVR(s), Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you with.
User avatar
Z-Man
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:00 am

Any Reason Why I Can't Use an 8TB HD in the NV4108E-HS

Postby Z-Man » Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:39 am

I have a 4TB in there now. I'd like to bump it up to an 8TB to have more retention.
Any reason, I couldn't put an 8TB HD in there? Does the firmware limit the HD size to 6TB?

User avatar
James.S
Site Admin
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 3:40 pm

Re: Any Reason Why I Can't Use an 8TB HD in the NV4108E-HS

Postby James.S » Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:15 am

Z-Man,


The NV4108E-HS will only be able to read up to a 6TB HD. It will not be able to see a hard drive bigger than this size.


Here are the Tech Specs for this device> https://s3.amazonaws.com/amcrest-files/ ... ations.pdf
Image
If you have any more questions or concerns about this product or other Amcrest products, Feel free to PM me or send an email to our support team https://amcrest.com/amcrestsupport.

- James.S

User avatar
Z-Man
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:00 am

Re: Any Reason Why I Can't Use an 8TB HD in the NV4108E-HS

Postby Z-Man » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:19 pm

I went against the grain and installed an 8TB in there. The NVR saw it and I formatted it. It's recording fine. I lost a few megabytes, as expected whenever I add a new HD. It happens to me on Windows PCs too. Nowadays with those huge Hard Drives, we lose quite a bit off the original amount. Anyway since Amcrest says the product only supports up to a 6TB, I don't recommend people do this. I'm still experimenting. So do this at your own risk. I'm not sure if data will be lost. So far the extra storage sounds awesome since I got a good deal on the hard drive. I wish I could keep the 4TB HD in there as well.
:D ;)

8TB HD in NVR.jpg
8TB HD in NVR.jpg (85.82 KiB) Viewed 192 times

Wiley
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Any Reason Why I Can't Use an 8TB HD in the NV4108E-HS

Postby Wiley » Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:52 pm

Have you had any problems since your 8TB install?

spleen911
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:21 pm

Re: Any Reason Why I Can't Use an 8TB HD in the NV4108E-HS

Postby spleen911 » Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:27 pm

I've been running a Western Digital 8TB Purple in an NV4108E-HS for 3 months and have experienced zero issues. I have three other NV4108E-HS running Western Digital 4TB Purple drives for comparison. No issue recording or playing back video. It isn't officially supported so you are on your own doing it. I keep a 4TB drive on my desk in case I have to contact technical support for any reason ... swap the drive and duplicate the issue before opening an incident.

User avatar
Z-Man
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:00 am

Re: Any Reason Why I Can't Use an 8TB HD in the NV4108E-HS

Postby Z-Man » Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:08 am

No issues at all.
None.


Return to “NVRs / DVRs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests