NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Have some questions or having issues with your IP Camera(s), Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you with.
friggeri
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 9:34 pm

NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by friggeri »

I posted about this a few months ago, ended up tossing the NVR aside, but tried making this work again. Here's my setup:

- One dedicated TP-Link AX50 router
- The NVR is connected to the router over ethernet, has a static IP, port 37777 is forwarded to the NVR, and I have successfully added it to Amcrest View Pro
- 8 wireless IP4M-1051w cameras, all connected via wifi to the above mentioned router. Each of them has a static IP
- Each camera is configured to use h264 encoding with variable bit rate on the main stream, with a lower quality substream
- Motion detection is disabled on all cameras and the NVR, all recording and snapshotting are also disabled.

If I add the cameras 1 by 1 to the NVR, I can live stream the feeds in Amcrest View Pro, up until the point where I read 4 or 5 cameras. Then I start getting crazy latencies and the feeds start freezing. Even if I open one stream at a time it starts freezing either immediately or after a few seconds. Worse, if I open up the http admin for one camera and try to directly stream it I have the same freezing problem. I'm also monitoring the traffic usage in that dedicated network and it's pretty low so this is not a bandwidth issue. Because of this, it's unclear to me whether this is an NVR problem, or a cameras problem.

I specifically bought this NVR because it had 32 channels and I'm planning on adding another 10 POE cameras to the system, but if it's already struggling with 8 I'm not sure that's going to fly.. Anyone has any idea what might be going on? Support has been very unhelpful so far
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Sorry to hear your still having issues. I am going to guess and kind of mentioned this in the last post last time and looking at the Router it should be well enough but there is just so much that can go on. I personally would do a Site Survey and find out what your router is doing in relation to others around your area. What I do know is that in truth Wifi is bad for security cameras. There are just to many things going on today that share the wifi waves and this can cause things to fail. Also if your router and another router are sharing a channel it could easy cause drop outs.. I have multi NVR's I can tell you that only cameras that I have a connection issue with are ones that are connected to a Router via Wifi.

Now I can't say what type of home you have, Maybe built with metal studs or plaster and lathe and or has many wires running though the house and all these things can make it an issue..

So out of all my NVR's only one that comes close to yours is my 4216E-AI NVR and while I say comes close in truth it is about 1/2 the quality of the 5xxx series. Yours says it will work with encoding upto 16ch 1080p or 4 4k where mine will only work with 2 4k and only 8 1080p. Now that isn't saying we can not connect more just that is what it will do before it starts to act up. I have 16ch filled in my NVR ranging from 720p to 5mp. Only 3 of my cameras are connected to my 4216E-AI NVR are Wifi. I do have a couple of others that are connected to another NVR that is on a different router and placed about 120ft from my 2 main routers. I have had to turn all the power down on my long range routers that are placed outdoors. If I left them full power it would over shoot my cameras and I will have connection issues.

So I am not sure how things are setup for you, I know that I can make issues if I cause noise into my network. Either EMI or RF and will cause one of my wifi cameras to go offline.

Not that you have boxes of Ethernet cable that you can just pull a bunch of cables for testing but I would bet if you pulled cable to each location for testing, Installed them to a Switch or even the NVR directly (Cameras don't have to be POE to connect to POE port of NVR) just the camera won't be powered by the NVR.. Anyway I would almost bet there wouldn't be any issues

Please note besides the 1 camera that I can make go off as stated above my other Wifi devices are all less then 20 feet to the connected router, Router is then connected to a switch and in a couple of cases a few switches before it connects into my NVR.
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
friggeri
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 9:34 pm

Re: NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by friggeri »

That’s a good idea, I’ll try to connect over ethernet just to test things out.
But I believe there is a deeper issue beyond that: if I *only* connect the cameras and expose each of them to Amcrest View Pro, then I have no issue whatsoever streaming all of them, but as soon as the NVR enters the equation then all the wireless cameras start misbehaving. Is there anyway way to monitor the NVR<->camera communications?
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Yes, You can click on main menu, then Operation, then looking at the Network as a Whole you can click on Network then load.

To look at the cameras, on the left rather then clicking Network click on Information, then Click on BPS and that will show you the connection of the cameras to the NVR..

I am going to guess that maybe you have h.265 on in your NVR and I would change that to h.264h and see if your issues go away? Also would double check that your Cable to the network for the NVR is good Copper cable if it is CCA it can act up as well.
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
friggeri
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 9:34 pm

Re: NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by friggeri »

This is how I have each camera configured: as you can see, I’m downsampling both the main and substream a lot, and there is very little network contention. Despite that loading each individual camera, whether from the NVR or from the camera itself causes them to freeze.

Cable between the NVR and router is high quality
Attachments
419C7895-11DB-44A4-A2EF-8F668E469D18.jpeg
419C7895-11DB-44A4-A2EF-8F668E469D18.jpeg (170.69 KiB) Viewed 871 times
B96DE286-0006-44EE-A6A6-F6AFF584082D.jpeg
B96DE286-0006-44EE-A6A6-F6AFF584082D.jpeg (326.86 KiB) Viewed 871 times
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Bit rate is to low for a quality video.

I setup my cameras on 22 FPS for Main and Sub I setup at 18 fps. Then most of the cameras I setup for 4096 Bit Rate and 1024 for Sub.

I also don't ever use VBR it will kill a good stream most always
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
friggeri
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 9:34 pm

Re: NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by friggeri »

I brought the fps/bitrate down in case it was a bandwidth issue, adjusting to the settings you’re recommending above doesn’t really change anything unfortunately, still getting very choppy video with higher latency now which is all very frustrating.
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by Revo2Maxx »

So on most of my cameras that I am able to run 22 I do. However I will admit that I do run a POE camera in h.265 in 30 fps and at only 2048 bitrate. That will be the last camera in the pictures here but wanted to show Ch2 and 5 are 2 of my Wifi cameras the other 2 are POE Also wanted to mention that on the 190 foot of cable there is 2 DVR's 8ch each, and 7 IP cameras. All connected to streaming to internet for P2P connections and even though I have it on a Giga port it has been damaged and my switch has fallen back to 100tx Also only camera that isn't connected to my NVR's is my 841v3 while I do have it port forwarded the NVR don't like the connection my 1051 is port forwarded 2 times and is on my NVR using my Routers DMZ

3mp Amcrest 941 wifi 15ft from router 93 foot cable to switch
Screenshot (1488).png
Screenshot (1488).png (89.66 KiB) Viewed 865 times
4mp Amcrest 1051 wifi 10ft from router 190 foot cable to switch shared
Screenshot (1489).png
Screenshot (1489).png (89.77 KiB) Viewed 865 times
4mp POE 30foot to POE switch, 190 foot cable to Switch shared
Screenshot (1490).png
Screenshot (1490).png (88.53 KiB) Viewed 865 times
4mp POE 30foot to POE Switch, 190 foot cable to Switch shared with 2 above
Screenshot (1491).png
Screenshot (1491).png (90.63 KiB) Viewed 865 times
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by Revo2Maxx »

I am working on Ch15 right now that is why it is offline out side of that the rest is current
Screenshot (1492).png
Screenshot (1492).png (90.59 KiB) Viewed 865 times
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: NV5232e-16p unusable with IP4M-1051w

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Ok I know it can be a pain but for Kicks take the cable from your NVR that goes to your Router and plug into a different port of the router.

All of my cables to my switches are Cat5e and I do have 2 60foot cables to my large outdoor POE PTZ cameras that are Cat6 other then that all my cables are Pure Copper Cat5e most of them from 1998 and might have 300 foot used from some newer stuff

I would try a different port on your router

Also if you a passwords with a ! I would change that too
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
Post Reply