External trigger record

Have some questions or having issues with your IP Camera(s), Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you with.
Sneaky

External trigger record

Post by Sneaky »

Dear all,

I am new to Amcrest and this forum.
I have been selscting and choosing Amcrest as monitoring camera for the company I work for. It works great.
I am using one model only (PoE) UltraHD 4k (8MP).

I want to understand if there is a way to externally generate a signal to start a record on the internal SD card. I want to use this signal to monitor production plants. My controller, infact, will generate this signal and start some recording on an oscilloscope. I want this recording to match the video recording in order to analyze them together. This external signal can be physical (free voltage contact or any kind) or through communication protocol. By looking at API I did not find an external trigger record command.

Do you have any idea on how to implement this?

Thank you in advance.

BR,Sneaky
GaryOkie

Re: External trigger record

Post by GaryOkie »

Welcome Sneaky.

Since you've found the API manual, review the Record Mode config that has a manual start/stop recording command. This is also briefly referenced in this support article using the camera web UI, not the API - https://support.amcrest.com/hc/en-us/ar ... to-Feature
Sneaky

Post by Sneaky »

There it is. Thank you very much GaryOkie!
Sneaky

Post by Sneaky »

Dear all,

is there any other way of communicating with the camera, beside HTTP or HTTPS?

Maybe something that can be tested with PuTTY or similar (Telnet)?

Thank you
jack7

Post by jack7 »

To send HTTP commands to an Amcrest camera from a script requires Digest Authenication.  Download and use curl in your script to do that.  Perhaps that's why HTTP commands don't work for you.  Do some Google searches to learn about it.