Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Have some questions or having issues with your IP Camera(s), Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you with.
Wade
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:10 pm

Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by Wade »

Model: IP8M-T2499E (according to onvif, is actually IP8M-T2499EW-28MM)
Firmware: 2.622.00AC000.0.R, Build Date 2019-10-24

GetProfiles returns 3 profiles:
MediaProfile000 - MediaProfile_Channel1_MainStream
MediaProfile001 - MediaProfile_Channel1_SubStream1
MediaProfile002 - MediaProfile_Channel1_SubStream2

Running GetStreamUri returns these results:

Soap request body MediaProfile000:
<SOAP-ENV:Body><onvifMedia:GetStreamUri><onvifMedia:StreamSetup><onvifXsd:Stream>RTP-Unicast</onvifXsd:Stream><onvifXsd:Transport><onvifXsd:Protocol>RTSP</onvifXsd:Protocol></onvifXsd:Transport></onvifMedia:StreamSetup><onvifMedia:ProfileToken>MediaProfile000</onvifMedia:ProfileToken></onvifMedia:GetStreamUri></SOAP-ENV:Body>

result (expected):

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes" ?>
<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://www.w3.org/2003/05/soap-envelope" xmlns:sc="http://www.w3.org/2003/05/soap-encoding" xmlns:trt="http://www.onvif.org/ver10/media/wsdl" xmlns:tt="http://www.onvif.org/ver10/schema"><s:Header/>
<s:Body><trt:GetStreamUriResponse><trt:MediaUri><tt:Uri>rtsp://192.168.0.177:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&amp;subtype=0&amp;unicast=true&amp;proto=Onvif</tt:Uri><tt:InvalidAfterConnect>true</tt:InvalidAfterConnect><tt:InvalidAfterReboot>true</tt:InvalidAfterReboot><tt:Timeout>PT0S</tt:Timeout></trt:MediaUri></trt:GetStreamUriResponse></s:Body>
</s:Envelope>

Soap request body MediaProfile001:
<SOAP-ENV:Body><onvifMedia:GetStreamUri><onvifMedia:StreamSetup><onvifXsd:Stream>RTP-Unicast</onvifXsd:Stream><onvifXsd:Transport><onvifXsd:Protocol>RTSP</onvifXsd:Protocol></onvifXsd:Transport></onvifMedia:StreamSetup><onvifMedia:ProfileToken>MediaProfile001</onvifMedia:ProfileToken></onvifMedia:GetStreamUri></SOAP-ENV:Body>

result (expected):

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes" ?>
<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://www.w3.org/2003/05/soap-envelope" xmlns:sc="http://www.w3.org/2003/05/soap-encoding" xmlns:trt="http://www.onvif.org/ver10/media/wsdl" xmlns:tt="http://www.onvif.org/ver10/schema"><s:Header/>
<s:Body><trt:GetStreamUriResponse><trt:MediaUri><tt:Uri>rtsp://192.168.0.177:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&amp;subtype=1&amp;unicast=true&amp;proto=Onvif</tt:Uri><tt:InvalidAfterConnect>true</tt:InvalidAfterConnect><tt:InvalidAfterReboot>true</tt:InvalidAfterReboot><tt:Timeout>PT0S</tt:Timeout></trt:MediaUri></trt:GetStreamUriResponse></s:Body></s:Envelope>

Soap request body MediaProfile0002:
<SOAP-ENV:Body><onvifMedia:GetStreamUri><onvifMedia:StreamSetup><onvifXsd:Stream>RTP-Unicast</onvifXsd:Stream><onvifXsd:Transport><onvifXsd:Protocol>RTSP</onvifXsd:Protocol></onvifXsd:Transport></onvifMedia:StreamSetup><onvifMedia:ProfileToken>MediaProfile002</onvifMedia:ProfileToken></onvifMedia:GetStreamUri></SOAP-ENV:Body>

result (UNEXPECTED):

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes" ?>
<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://www.w3.org/2003/05/soap-envelope" xmlns:sc="http://www.w3.org/2003/05/soap-encoding" xmlns:trt="http://www.onvif.org/ver10/media/wsdl" xmlns:tt="http://www.onvif.org/ver10/schema"><s:Header/>
<s:Body><trt:GetStreamUriResponse><trt:MediaUri><tt:Uri>rtsp://192.168.0.177:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&amp;subtype=0&amp;unicast=true&amp;proto=Onvif</tt:Uri><tt:InvalidAfterConnect>true</tt:InvalidAfterConnect><tt:InvalidAfterReboot>true</tt:InvalidAfterReboot><tt:Timeout>PT0S</tt:Timeout></trt:MediaUri></trt:GetStreamUriResponse></s:Body></s:Envelope>

Expected result: rtsp://192.168.0.177:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&amp;subtype=2&amp;unicast=true&amp;proto=Onvif is returned.

The GetStreamUri request returns a RTSP of the main stream rather than SubStream2. I can PCAP the exchange if it's useful, but hopefully this is a pretty straightforward bug. Please let me know if I should report a bug somewhere else.
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 5900
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Interesting to say the least

First Hello and Welcome to the Forum...

Bug Humm I am not sure I can call that a bug.. While I can't say what it should have really replied with because I am not looking at your Setup and so it is hard to say if things are setup right for the info to return correctly.. While I am not saying you don't have it setup right. I am wondering if it returned Main for Second Stream do to the fact that the Second Stream isn't enabled? Most times this is a feature that would require a user intervention... If it was setup out of the box and the Second Sub isn't enabled then the result may come back as something that might make the user really think something is wrong like false or something that may make them panic..

Please note this is just a guess and I can't see what is going on what steps have been taken to check things from your VIEW... So I can only give off the Top of the head guesses and that is what came to mind.. I would check your setup under camera configuration and make sure all streams are enabled.
Be Safe.
Wade
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:10 pm

Re: Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by Wade »

Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion, unfortunately, it's not quite so easy. Both Substream 1 and Substream 2 are enabled can can be viewed from the web live view and via VLC rtsp links. However, the correct url is NOT returned via onvif.

Are you able to forward this to the devs and or point me to a better place to file a bug?

Best,
Wade
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 5900
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by Revo2Maxx »

I will pass it along to Kwing and he can pass it on to the Devs as he is in office M-F. Another thing that you could also maybe if needed is contact Support and they could pass it along as well...
Be Safe.
User avatar
Kwing
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:18 am

Re: Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by Kwing »

Hi @Wade ,

Thank you very much for the information, will it be possible to send the team a direct contact using the following support form so that we can take a closer look at it?

https://amcrest.com/amcrestsupport

We may need to ask further questions to make sure we covered all our angles so the R&D team can take a look at it as well.

Thank you.
Wade
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:10 pm

Re: Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by Wade »

Thanks for the reply Kwing, I have a support case open, #327178

Best,
Wade
User avatar
pir8radio
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:05 pm

Re: Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by pir8radio »

So what is the actual problem you are having? I have the same camera on the latest firmware, going to a third party NVR (Acti NVR3) and my nvr picks up the settings correctly, all three streams... I actually use mainstream (recording and full screen view) and substream 2 (preview) leaving substream 1 open for other use and have no issues. The streams match my video settings (i do not have two mainstreams).
Wade
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:10 pm

Re: Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by Wade »

Essentially,

My NVR is saving the main stream twice instead of once. Are you familiar with how Acti NVR3 pulls the streams? Or are you able to try a repro like above?

I can put together a small python script if that would be easier for you.
jack7
Posts: 904
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 7:46 pm

Re: Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by jack7 »

Sounds like a NVR problem. If you haven't tried it, the program ONVIF Device Manager can inspect your camera Profiles and change them. Perhaps that would be of use.
https://sourceforge.net/projects/onvifdm/
Wade
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:10 pm

Re: Bug report: IP8M-T2499E ONVIF GetStreamUri

Post by Wade »

Unfortunately, onvifdm seems broken, it shows "'Object reference not set to an instance of an object"

What makes you think it sounds like an NVR problem? The initial post was replicated without using the NVR software at all.
Post Reply