Problem getting a snapshot.

Any major updates coming, Upcoming Software, General Security advice for others and topics alike Post them here so other users can chat with you.
longedge
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 9:34 am

Problem getting a snapshot.

Postby longedge » Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:59 am

I want to upload a screenshot from my camera to my webspace automatically at set intervals but can't find anything to do it with so I thought I'd make my own. It's almost working but I've got one problem that I can't solve.

The script action in the software I'm using is HTTP.Download which as far as I'm aware works the same as a normal HTTP request. I've got everything working except that the "USERNAME:[email protected]" are not accepted and I get a user/password challenge.

In web browsers on my Windows10 system, the URL "http://USERNAME:[email protected]/cgi-bin/snapshot.cgi" fails in Firefox, IE and Edge but in Chrome it works without a problem and displays the snapshot.

As I said, the app I'm building nearly works. It deletes the existing snapshot, gets a new one and saves it to my desktop using the filename I want and then ftp's it to my webspace. The only thing I need to do now is to get the embedded user/password accepted.

I've looked at anonymous login in the camera settings but I can't find a way to specify the authorised IP (as I understand it for anonymous login to work the request has to come from a specified/authorised IP).

p.s. I have added an entry to my Windows Credentials manager using the camera network device name rather than the IP. I still get the user/password challenge but it is fully populated and just needs an OK click so I'm now looking at how to automate that last click.
Using IP2M-841B and IP3M-841B both on firmware 2.520.AC00.18.R

martini-69
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 4:12 am

Re: Problem getting a snapshot.

Postby martini-69 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:26 am

Hi longedge and others who have this problem!

I found this topic because I want to watch my door with the IP2M-841B and need a snapshot-function without a separate login button for my Fritz!box which should show the door snapshot on my Dect-phone when somebody is ringing at the door. I wasted many hours with testing many snapshot.cgi's.

After all i found 2 solutions:
1st: not comfortable but without security issues: Use ISpy with option ftp-upload (localy or internet). This is functionaly very good. As ftp-Server I use my Fritzbox. ISpy is watching the stream and uploads scheduled every 1s. Disadvantage is that you need a running PC.
2nd: Very easy and with no additional soft- and hardware but with a security issue (or is it only a bug?) is with this url:
http://[CAM-IP]/onvifsnapshot/media_service/snapshot?channel=1&subtype=0
also working:
http://[CAM-IP]/onvifsnapshot/media_service/snapshot
Don't use the brackets!
example: http://192.168.0.66/onvifsnapshot/media ... e/snapshot
The only thing you have to do is one setting in the setup of your cam. Go to network/Connection, select Tab ONVIF and disable authentication, save and have fun!
I tried also http://[user]:[pwd]@[Cam-IP]/onvifsnapshot/media_service/snapshot?channel=1&subtype=0
with enabled onvif authentication but this didn't worked for me with the R18 firmware.
By deactivating authentication in onvif other software is able to edit your settings and of course control your cam and you! :-) This because of bad implementing onvif

Dear Amcrest! It could be so easy, why do you make live so complicated? Why could you not integrate a standard snapshot.cgi without nagging additional authentication.

Hoping I could help some others who have problems with this really bad implemented snapshot.cgi.
But on the other side Amcrest makes really good Cam's with lots of functions for a good price!

LG
Martin

squeaky
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:09 pm

Re: Problem getting a snapshot.

Postby squeaky » Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:14 pm

martini-69 wrote:Hi longedge and others who have this problem!

I found this topic because I want to watch my door with the IP2M-841B and need a snapshot-function without a separate login button for my Fritz!box which should show the door snapshot on my Dect-phone when somebody is ringing at the door. I wasted many hours with testing many snapshot.cgi's.

After all i found 2 solutions:
1st: not comfortable but without security issues: Use ISpy with option ftp-upload (localy or internet). This is functionaly very good. As ftp-Server I use my Fritzbox. ISpy is watching the stream and uploads scheduled every 1s. Disadvantage is that you need a running PC.
2nd: Very easy and with no additional soft- and hardware but with a security issue (or is it only a bug?) is with this url:
http://[CAM-IP]/onvifsnapshot/media_service/snapshot?channel=1&subtype=0
also working:
http://[CAM-IP]/onvifsnapshot/media_service/snapshot
Don't use the brackets!
example: http://192.168.0.66/onvifsnapshot/media ... e/snapshot
The only thing you have to do is one setting in the setup of your cam. Go to network/Connection, select Tab ONVIF and disable authentication, save and have fun!
I tried also http://[user]:[pwd]@[Cam-IP]/onvifsnapshot/media_service/snapshot?channel=1&subtype=0
with enabled onvif authentication but this didn't worked for me with the R18 firmware.
By deactivating authentication in onvif other software is able to edit your settings and of course control your cam and you! :-) This because of bad implementing onvif

Dear Amcrest! It could be so easy, why do you make live so complicated? Why could you not integrate a standard snapshot.cgi without nagging additional authentication.

Hoping I could help some others who have problems with this really bad implemented snapshot.cgi.
But on the other side Amcrest makes really good Cam's with lots of functions for a good price!

LG
Martin


Agree with you on the ONVIF problem as I have seen similar issue with the IP2M-843EB. Amcrest needs to fix this in the firmware.

I was able to access snaps using this:
http://admin:[email protected]:80 /cgi-bin /snapshot.cgi

remove the spaces

Unfortunately the Onvif Device Manager can't access that cam because of this security bug.

Do you happen to have the H.264 or MPEG URLs?


Return to “General Security Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest