Bug Tracking? Software development processes?

Any major updates coming, Upcoming Software, General Security advice for others and topics alike Post them here so other users can chat with you.
Darkstar

Bug Tracking? Software development processes?

Post by Darkstar »

I hope this posting gets answered by the Software Developers/Engineers at Amcrest as this is not an issue that is addressable by fellow users, and the answers to these questions will give me and other users some idea of the quality and maturity of Amcrest's software development processes. I am a very advance software engineer myself (retired now) and have reported a few bugs both here in the forums and directly to Amcrest Support. I have managed to get the Amcrest front end support team to push some of the bugs I reported to them, on to what they refer to as the Amcrest R&D team but gotten no feedback from the R&D members directly.

I have bought quite a few Amcrest cameras myself so I do have a considerable investment in them. And I have a growing concern about the quality of Amcrest's software development process. For example, does the Amcrest software development team uses any sort of formal bug tracking methodology? I have read many postings on these forums that reported a bug, or judgement about poor user interfaces, poor design/documentation etc. But I see little evidence that these reports are getting turned into formal bug reports that can actually be tracked to a conclusion. What actually prompted me to ask about bug tracking was the posting titled "Open letter about the state of Amcrest software" which raised this and a number of other serious concerns I have.

This posting is a bit of a test to see how active and how much monitoring the actual software engineers and team leaders at Amcrest do on this forum. So I would like to ask Amcrest's software engineers/team leaders these questions -