App Basically Doesn't Work

Have some questions or having issues with Amcrest View Pro, Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you.
Brendan

App Basically Doesn't Work

Post by Brendan »

I've been using the Amcrest View Pro app for a few years now but recently it doesn't work for me anymore.
The same problems occurred at the same time for my phone (Galaxy S20 Ultra, my previous phone Galaxy S9+, and my wife's current phone which is a Galaxy S9+

Trying to watch Live View, I can see the speed of the video stream in the upper right corner, it's usually around 800k. After a few seconds it goes to 0 and the video stops. Once it does this I am unable to connect to any other cameras on my AMDV4M8 system until I force stop the app and restart. It does this on both HD and SD feeds. It's always after about 5 seconds of streaming.

It does this on my wifi and cellular connections.

During playback, the video will stop and lose connection. Sometimes I can tap to reconnect, sometimes I have to kill the app and start over.

Sounds like a network issue, right? Well, I can stream live video feed from my PC all day long with a hiccup. Same network, same connection.

I do not have data saver turned on, and I turned off battery optimization for the app on all phones. I have power cycled the DVR, phone and router.
I am having this problem with the stable version of the app, and the beta version.

Any ideas?
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin

Re: App Basically Doesn't Work

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Hello Sorry to hear your having some issues with your 4mp CVI Dvr unit... So I am not there have no way to know these answers without asking so I have to ask some questions that may seem pointless to you but I need as much answered as you can please...

How old is your CVI unit
When was the last time it was cleaned in and out
What type of HDD (Hard Drive) are you using 5400 or 7200
Is this connected to your Network on a switch or direct to your Router