How to Run Amcrest Surveillance Pro as a normal user in Windows

Have some questions or having issues with Amcrest Surveillance Pro? Post them here for the mods and other users to assist you.
Post Reply
Kyeld
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:08 pm

How to Run Amcrest Surveillance Pro as a normal user in Windows

Post by Kyeld »

For some reason Amcrest Surveillance Pro requires administrative privileges to run in Windows 10, I haven't tested it any other version of Windows. We have users that need to have access to our cameras, but cannot be given local admin privileges. What do I need to modify in order to allow them to run the application normally without having to provide admin credentials?


We would use the IE plug-in but the WebActiveX.exe is constantly crashing for some reason and the Chrome App doesn't even work. I get the "Your browser does not support this function!" error even though the web UI is being accessed through the Amcrest Web View Chrome app. :roll:

Any help would be appreciated.
jack7continued
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 10:56 am

Re: How to Run Amcrest Surveillance Pro as a normal user in Windows

Post by jack7continued »

You may just need to change the user permission to access the Amcrest Surveillance Pro folder.
For all Amcrest methods of accessing cameras, see
https://amcrest.com/forum/technical-dis ... 11971.html
lakerssuperman
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 7:32 am

Re: How to Run Amcrest Surveillance Pro as a normal user in Windows

Post by lakerssuperman »

I have Surveillance Pro running on Windows 10 and it works fine if I run it under my admin account. However, when I go to access the software from a non admin account it prompts me to enter admin credentials. I need to be able to deploy the software for a regular user without admin rights. Changing file permissions didn't fix the issue. Anyone have any other workarounds? Any help is appreciated.
jack7
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 7:46 pm

Re: How to Run Amcrest Surveillance Pro as a normal user in Windows

Post by jack7 »

You could set up ASP on one PC for many users with no concurrent logins, or install ASP on each user PC and set it up for each user.
In Amcrest Surveillace Pro 2.0, you need to add a Role and save. Then add a user and specify that Role for the user. Role would be Admin, Role1, etc.
In ASP 2.0, you will find the user manual link at the top of ASP screen.
ASP 2.0 download link is at https://amcrest.com/forum/amcrest-surve ... 13561.html
Mindescape
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:38 am

Re: How to Run Amcrest Surveillance Pro as a normal user in Windows

Post by Mindescape »

Hi, I wanted to go back to this question.
I have a shared control PC from where the ASP is running. I have a problem where users install crap I don't want. I want them to log in as a normal user without admin privileges. How can I run ASP (as it asks me to supply admin password for UAC).
Thanks for the help guys!
ahoadley
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2021 9:28 am

Re: How to Run Amcrest Surveillance Pro as a normal user in Windows

Post by ahoadley »

I'm running into this same issue and have not figured out a way around it. The 'Run as Administrator' box is not checked in the Compatibility tab of properties. I've changed permissions to 'Full Permissions' for everyone from the top folder down and UAC still pops up it's 'I need an admin password' box. Has anyone understood what is actually tripping the admin flag? Giving the user admin rights is out of the question. Thank you for the help.
jack7continued
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 10:56 am

Re: How to Run Amcrest Surveillance Pro as a normal user in Windows

Post by jack7continued »

Current ASP with multiple user IDs and restricted permissions works OK for me on Windows 10 with no UAC message.  I don't know why but probably some combination of privacy/security settings.  A Windows server may be different.
Perhaps go to Windows settings /Privacy/File system, and turn on Allow apps...
Post Reply