AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

This Forum its to discuss the new Smart Home Devices.
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3399
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by Revo2Maxx »

@xilix About the IR to Auto there is only 2 ways this will be done.. One on Tues at 2 am and two is if there was a power outage.. It seems either a flaw in fW or by design they have the camera come back after a reboot set to Auto.. My thought is that they have it setup for Auto because there is a delay for them to Click the relay and turn them on at night and this delay might be a way to keep the system stable while it Boots...
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
GaryOkie
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:23 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by GaryOkie »

Hi @xilix -

You should be able to accomplish both functions through the API.

To turn off the Night Vision via the API, you can use:

http://admin:<password>@<ip_addr>/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&Lighting[0][0].Mode=Off


You can verify the current Night Vision mode setting via:

http://<ip_addr>/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=getConfig&name=Lighting

This is useful since the SmartHome app won't necessarily reflect changes made via the API and will still show Auto or whatever the mode was originally set via the app.

Here is the API call that will turn off call notifications...

http://admin:<password>@<ip_addr>/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&MobilePhoneApplication.PushNotificationEnable=false

I don't think anything actually changes "every 72 hours" but we do know about the forced weekly reboot early Tuesday AM. After that reboot, the Night Vision gets reset to "Manual" mode internally in the doorbell for unknown reasons. Interestingly, the SmartHome app doesn't have that option, so it shows "Auto" instead, which is just flat wrong. This has to be a significant firmware bug that will eventually need to be addressed.
Dingdongditch
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:08 am

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by Dingdongditch »

xilix wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 10:47 pm If I can accomplish the above 2 things via API calls, then I'll setup a cron job on one of my Raspberry Pi's and call it a day.
same problem here, motion detection gone haywire and I am prevented from disabling night vision


@GaryOkie thanks very much for your help i will see if i can set up cron job like xilix said and see if that fixes my issues
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3399
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Well my Contact was uneventful.. So I mentioned that there was some that have issues with IR at night and that one can take it over API and change to 95 where another stated they could only take it to 15 and was told that API isn't tested and not suggested on any of the Smart Home Products.. Told while some might work there could be code ran that might brick the Smart Home devices..
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
GaryOkie
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:23 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by GaryOkie »

Revo2Maxx wrote:was told that API isn't tested and not suggested...
This is the crux of the problem with Amcrest and SmartHome - their failure to test against the published API and releasing a device that could be potentially broken with it. Their unwillingness to release an updated API Guide or even firmware release notes makes matters worse.

Does Amcrest documentation state NO other software can be used to communicate with the doorbell other than SmartHome? No, not at all. Amcrest clearly advertises that the AD110 can be used with Blue Iris, NVR's, and Amcrest View Pro app, not just SmartHome. Just refer to the AD110 User Guide, pages 43-45 for instructions!

Does the AD110 guide say anywhere to avoid making any configuration changes using these apps because you can "brick" your doorbell? Nope. Having the ability to damage or lock up the doorbell using not just the API calls, but the very apps or NVR compatibility that Amcrest advertises as major selling points over Ring is inexcusable.

These API holes in their firmware, whatever they are, must be fixed to at the very least ignore unsupported commands. Maybe some holes have already been patched and it's no longer possible to brick the doorbell? That would be great, but we have no clue since there are no release notes.

I have been personally testing the API commands before posting them for others to try. I have also been systematically uncovering exactly which configurations that the SmartHome app updates and testing each API call to examine their effect. All are working exactly as expected, and are providing a valuable new capability for automation and as workarounds to existing issues.
Dingdongditch
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:08 am

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by Dingdongditch »

Can someone help possibly what am I doing wrong below

When I go to URL http://10.0.2.70/cgi-bin/configManager. ... ].Mode=Off , it says "OK" and then turns off night mode, yay!

I am trying to execute this command in YAML with home-assistant as scheduled task every Tuesday
Should I be using REST? get/put/post? https://www.home-assistant.io/integrati ... t_command/

My example command is below, but execution does not work

rest_command:
doorbell_night_vision_off:
url: "http://10.0.2.70/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi"
method: put
username: xxxxxx
password: xxxxxx
content_type: "application/x-www-form-urlencoded"
payload: "action=setConfig&Lighting[0][0].Mode=Off"
GaryOkie
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:23 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by GaryOkie »

Hi @Dingdongditch You will surely get better help with the Rest command on the Home Assistant forum. I wasn't entirely sure that Amcrest/Dahua supported Rest or could specify Digest authentication, so I ran the cURL route to create a working switch (with status) to toggle motion detection.

You can give this code a try (I am away from home now and have not tested it)...

Code: Select all

switch:
- platform: command_line
switches:
doorbell_ir_light:
command_on: '/usr/bin/curl -s --digest -u admin:<password> "http://192.168.x.xx/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&Lighting[0][0].Mode="Auto" '
command_off: '/usr/bin/curl -s --digest -u admin:<password> "http://192.168.x.xx/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&Lighting[0][0].Mode="Off" '
command_state: '/usr/bin/curl -s --digest -u admin:<password> "http://192.168.x.xx/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=getConfig&name=&Lighting[0][0]" | grep -oPc "Auto" || true'
value_template: '{{ value == "1" }}'
Note: A switch is binary - off or on. But possible internal doorbell Modes can be off, Auto, Manual, or ForceOn. The logic above is that you will only either use Auto or Off modes. Any other mode will show a status of off in HA. You can of course change this logic to suit your needs if you want "on" to be a mode other than Auto.

If interested in the Motion Detection toggle, see my HA post here. https://community.home-assistant.io/t/a ... u=garyokie

AAARGH! This forum editor's CODE function does not honor spaces! F'kng useless for Yaml, Python, etc that are dependent on accurate spacing. So take a look at my HA forum post for how the YAML is supposed to look.
User avatar
Revo2Maxx
Site Admin
Posts: 3399
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by Revo2Maxx »

Idea on Code that won't work on the Forum.. With being written out I understand it would be easier for someone to copy an paste but one could also take a Screen shot of the code and just post it as an image...
Try to Avoid CCA Networking Cables They are JUNK PERIOD!
Where there is Life there is Hope
James
Dingdongditch
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:08 am

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by Dingdongditch »

GaryOkie wrote: Thu Aug 20, 2020 6:26 pm You can give this code a try (I am away from home now and have not tested it)...
Wow cool! Thank you for your help, I will give this a try and report back if it works.
It's great to interact with smart people such as yourself that know how to create workarounds to issues :D
Endactam
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 7:57 pm

Re: AD110 Doorbell Persistent Night Vision Off

Post by Endactam »

So I'm having the same issue, camera reboots constantly when the IR lights are on.
Currently using a triggered webhook to set it to off until I can figure out how to change the power level based on sunrise/sunset.

Interesting I'm seeing different settings when I reboot mine from others here. I'm running the latest firmware.

On a reboot it's returning
table.Lighting[0][0].Mode=SmartLight

Options from the app:
Auto = Auto
Off = Off
Force On = ForceOn

Set via the api so far seems to be stable (default power level is 20 so i left it there)
<edit> well I don't know what the command to change the lighting is so 20 it is for now
action=setConfig&Lighting[0][0].Mode=Manual
Post Reply